Missouri Wrestling Revival

Giving Back to Midwest Pro Wrestling!

Fan Favorite Prepares to Hang Up His Boots

Posted by Admin on May 20, 2008

Fan Favorite Prepares to Hang Up His Boots

By Kari Williams
MMWA-SICW wrestler Shaft has captured the Light-heavyweight Championship, Tag Team Championship and Heavyweight Championship in various promotions—during a four-year span. He has put his heart and soul into every match, sacrificing his body every month to please the fans. He will be retiring in less than a year.

“I said I wanted to do it until I was 51, and I just turned 50 May 3, so I [have] one more year, and I feel that it might be time,” Shaft said.

He had the opportunity to make his mark on the Midwest wrestling scene through a Connection within the industry.

“[I was] just sitting in the front row and hassling Phil E. Blunt, and then I end up seeing him on the street, and he asked me did I want to train to be a professional wrestler,” Shaft said.

Despite his short time in the business, Shaft has had the opportunity to face many opponents with different strengths and weaknesses, which provided him with many challenges along the way.

“[The] three guys that stand out the most would be Gary Jackson, Phil E. Blunt and Jeremy Lightfoot. Those three there, they’ve really been in the business way longer than me. We just went at each other. We don’t like each other,” Shaft said.

After retirement, he plans to stay within the business working behind the scenes. However, Shaft will spend the remaining time with his family of six daughters and four granddaughters.

“I just want to spend a little time around the house and play with them while I can chase them before I [won’t] be able to run,” he said.

Nonetheless, if the need arises, Shaft may lace up the boots one more time.

“Never say never. You know, that’s what they say Hulk Hogan said. If the opportunity presents [itself] then I guess I have to come back out and kick butt,” Shaft said.

The ‘never-say-die’ attitude that has become his unspoken motto transcends the wrestler’s viewpoint and translates directly to the fans.

“Keep coming down and support the independent wrestling, and come down here and raise a whole lot of hell!” he said.

He will “miss the kids cheering [him] on and having a good time.” He wants to be remembered as an outgoing person that always made people laugh. But what it all comes down to is that the fans come to the shows and have a good time, which is all that Shaft asks for.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 512 other followers

